4 Km from Killeshandra off the Milltown Road.
There are a trail of forest walks and rocky and sandy shores to be enjoyed at your leisure and a great picnic location for all the family.There is also 3 km of family cycle trails opened in Killykeen Forest Park just outside Killeshandra town. Killykeen is a beautiful mixed woodland park, located in a very scenic area of Co Cavan. It lies on the shores of Lough Oughter which is part of the River Erne system. The forest park consists of approx 240 hectares. Lough Oughter is renowned for course fishing with the main species of fish being pike, bream and perch and is also home to mallard and tufted duck with wigeon and pochard among the winter visitors. The cycle trails in the midst of mixed woodland on very safe paths.
Kilmore Cathedral, Cavan
This cathedral features a famous Romanesque doorway which dates back to the late twelfth or early 13th century. It is believed that this fine piece of architecture originally was part of the nearby Abbey on Trinity Island.
St Fethlimidh's Cathedral, Kilmore is one of two cathedral churches in the Diocese of Kilmore, Elphin and Ardagh (the other is St John the Baptist Cathedral, Sligo) in the Church of Ireland. It is situated in the parish of Kilmore, located about 12.5 km south-east of Killeshandra town.
The cathedral stands on an elevated wooded site adjacent to Lough Oughter. One of its more interesting feature is the 12th century Romanesque doorway built into the outside wall of the vestry. The cathedral also possesses an original copy of the first translation of the Old Testament into Irish by William Bedell, Bishop of Kilmore from 1629 to 1642.
According to tradition, St. Fethlimidh founded a small church on the site in the 6th century.
In 1452 the old Parish Church of Kilmore became the cathedral for the Diocese of Kilmore, continuing after the Reformation as a Church of Ireland cathedral, even after the Kilmore See was amalgamated in 1841 with those of Elphin and Ardagh. However, by 1858 the building was too small and dilapidated for proper use and the present cathedral, designed by William Slater, was rebuilt by 1860 alongside the old one, which is now used as a parochial hall.
The Marble Ach Caves Global Geopark
This Marble Arch Caves Global Geopark encompasses a wide varity of sites in counties Cavan and Fermanagh making it the first UNESCO designated cross border Geopark in the world. These caves are one of the finest examples in Europe, where you can experience the many underground rivers, waterfalls and rock formations on a guided tour from the visitors centre in Marlbank, Co Fermanagh a 40 minute drive away.
Cavan County Museum, Ballyjamesduff, Co Cavan
ABOUT THE MUSEUM
We aim to collect, conserve and ultimately display the material heritage and culture of County Cavan and its environs, for the benefit of the public.
Exhibition galleries feature unique artefacts dating from the stone age up until the twentieth century, material spanning over 6000 years of occupation in Cavan. Displays of notable interest include the Killycluggin stone and the three-faced Corleck Head, two of the most recognisable examples of Celtic spirituality in the country.
The museum also houses a medieval Dug-Out boat and a selection of medieval Sheela-na-Gigs, as well as a Folk Life gallery depicting life in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Newly-opened galleries deal with topics as diverse as the Great Famine, Percy French and the Lords Farnham. Our temporary exhibition space plays host to visiting and currently relevant exhibitions, whilst our Eden Gallery is home to regular art shows given by local and national artists.
World War One Trench Experience and Exhibition Gallery.
Cavan County Museum is now home to the largest outdoor replica trench open to the public in Ireland and the UK. The Trench is becoming a must-see attraction for visitors since it opened in August 2014 and includes sound and visual effects to enhance the experience and educate visitors on life in the trenches in World War One.
The trench, built to the specifications and manuals of the Irish Guards and used by the Royal Irish Fusiliers at the Battle of the Somme 1916 is over 350m long and includes frontline, communication and support trenches. Over 6000 sand bags were used in its construction.
MUSEUM OPENING HOURS
Cavan County Museum is open year-round from Tuesday to Saturday, between the hours of 10am and 5pm. During the months of June, July, August, and September, the museum is also open on Sundays from 2pm until 5.30pm.
The Rath Church, Killeshandra, Co Cavan
Long before a town came into existence during the seventeenth century, a rath or ringfort occupied the site where the old church still stands. It is from this that the town takes its name Cill na Seanratha, meaning the Church of the old Rath or ringfort. The earliest church is recorded as being built here by Augustinian monks from the nearby Drumlane abbey, circa 1350 and was used by local people living around and about the area. Originally the church was likely a plain stone structure with small windows and surrounding graveyard, much like other early Irish churches in this region.
During the Plantation of Ulster local lands were granted to Scottish settlers led by Sir Alexander Hamilton, who's task it was to build a castle and create a town. This also included the old rath church which then became used by the Protestant planter families. As the town grew in population there was a need for a larger church building, so it was then that the Hamilton’s re-built the church to include a ‘T’ shaped transept and install larger windows in the gothic style. There is no exact date when this work was undertaken except that it took place after the death of Sir Charles Hamilton in 1688. It is recorded that several generations of Hamilton family are buried here and the heraldic coat of arms on the gable wall is that of Sir Charles Hamilton and his wife Catherine (nee Semple). Their son Sir Francis Hamilton is also buried here. There is a fine marble memorial erected in the existing Church of Ireland which was removed from the old church when a new church was built in 1842. After this time the roof of the old rath church was removed and the building left to decay.
The old graveyard continued to be used by local families of all denominations until quite recently and is presently cared for by members of the local community. The earliest grave markers date from 1696 and the graveyard is popular with overseas visitors searching for their Killeshandra ancestors
Sitting between Drumlane and Derrybrick Loughs, are the remains of a 6th Century monastery founded by St. Mogue, the Bishop of Ferns. The round tower is one of the most striking features of the site, standing over 11m high. Look for the carvings of birds on the external wall. The church features a number of interesting stone heads, one above the door in the west wall and another three on the external face of the east window. Near the church there are a series of earthworks, probably the remains of the 12th century Augustinian Priory.
Drumlane Abbey is one of the most beautiful historic sites in Cavan and is well worth a visit. The abbey is located about 1km outside Milltown. Coming from Belturbet, go through the village of Milltown. Just as you are rounding the bend to the right to leave the village, take a left, then immediately right. Follow the road for 1km to Drumlane Abbey.